(Closed) 8.5-month-old has really terrible Separation Anxiety

posted 5 years ago in Babies
Post # 3
1019 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: January 2010

Hi PandasWifey, I am not a mom yet, but I have 10+ years of experience with caring for young children, so I am not completely unqualified to offer some advice.

First of all, developmentally this is very normal. Obviously every child is different, and some will experience this much worse than others, but it is normal, even as it is frustrating!

There is really no “cure” for this other than time, but there are things you can do to make separation easier on your LO. For starters, “sneaking around” might work in the short term, but it can actually make your child feel worse. They need to know that when you are there you are there, and when you are gone you will come back. By sneaking out when she is calm it can give her a sense of insecurity.

You didn’t really comment on this, but what are goodbyes like in your home? With a child that age it is really important to keep goodbyes short and sort of project your own confidence. Children totally pick up your insecurity, and a long, drawn-out goodbye makes it more difficult for both of you.

Finally, I would suggest just communicating to your child. If she is laying on the floor playing, for example, and you need to use the bathroom, explain it to her. “I am going to go the bathroom, and I will be right back.” She may cry when you are in the bathroom, but a little crying will not hurt her, and this is a good way to help her understand that while you will go away you will always come back– whether it is for 2 minutes or 2 hours.

I’m sorry you are going through this, but as long as her screams and cries get the response she wants– you staying, holding her, picking her up, not leaving her alone for a minute– she will continue to do this. Good luck!

Post # 4
140 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: October 2011