I bought my shoes today!!!
more by maybride2bee
Help Please! Any hair dressers here?(NWR)
Twitter 4 Wedding?
more in Technology
A wedding website that actually works?
Show me your wedding day Heabands!!
more in Boards
What does your wedding-day timeline look like?

Am I being scammed?

posted 2 years ago in Technology
  •  
    1.
    Member
    218 posts
    Helper bee
    maybride2bee    May 22, 2009   north carolina

    I placed an add on a used wedding dress site and within a week had a great bite. Or so I thought until I open my email this morning.  The girl was very interested seemed very nice and was super excited about buying my dress all the details where worked out, however, when I opened an email from her this morning she informed me that her FI was paying for the dress and he can not get an offical bank check for less than $950.  The sale price on the dress was $380.  I was selling the dress for $350 and she offered to pay thirty dollars extra for "superior packaging materials". No big deal I thought I can handle that throw a few packing peanuts and bubble wrap in to make her extra safe for the trip. But she wants me to cash the $950 check and send her the rest of the money in the package with the dress.  I'm pretty sure I know whats up but I just wanted to here someone else say it.  So opinions ladies, what's going on?

    Oh yeah maybe this should have been a red flag but i thought nothing of it cuz my FH does the same thing, but she said she had a fedex account for work she would send me the shipping label and so dummy me gave her my mailing address, what happens next, I'm not in any kind of danger of ID theft or something am I?

     
    2.
    Member
    4,138 posts
    Honey bee
    hotchildinthecity    June 12, 2010   New York, NY

    That definitely sounds fishy.  Skip it.

     
    3.
    Member
    4,019 posts
    Honey bee
    jennifer_espos    June 18, 2010   NYC

    Yeah, I'd pass.  This sounds so sketchy. 

     
    4.
    Member
    915 posts
    Busy bee
    Miss Britt    June 25, 2010   Kalamazoo, MI

    Yeah, I would cut off all contact with her.  Try to find someone else that wouldn't have so many hoops to jump through to sell it.

     
    5.
    Bee Icon
    Bee
    1,992 posts
    Buzzing bee
    ribbons    June 12, 2010  

    It's most likely going to be a bad check. Don't contact her again.

     
    6.
    Member
    133 posts
    Blushing bee
    Stormy    June 13, 2010   Toronto, Ontario

    I assume that a bank check in the U.S. is pretty much the same as one in Canada. I have used these a couple of times and I have been able to pick the exact amount I wanted them for. I`m pretty sure it is a scam.

     
    7.
    Hostess
    9,018 posts
    Buzzing
    Beekeeper
    daydreamwanderer       DC

    yikes! stay away!! definitely a scammer...

    I'm not sure about the address thing; I've never heard that before.

     
    8.
    Member
    508 posts
    Busy bee
    MissACS    March!  

    Scam. Just say no.

     
    9.
    Member
    15 posts
    Newbee
    wildfireflyeyes    9.18.09  

    Yeah, that is a scam! You can't accept checks. Local cash or get a paypal account.

     
    10.
    Member Icon
    3,378 posts
    Sugar bee
    Laylabelle    November 7, 2009  

    Offering to pay more is always a scam! It's a fake check!

    http://www.smartmoney.com/spending/rip-offs/a-craigslist-scam-you-might-fall-for-0/

     
    11.
    1,681 posts
    Bumble bee
    Soon2beeMrsM    October 2010   NY

    I'm sure it's a scam. I used to work at a bank and they ALWAYS did a certified bank check for whatever the amount of money the customer needed. Cut all communications with her and say adios!

     
    12.
    Member Icon
    Member
    1,014 posts
    Bumble bee
    grace8367    September 6, 2009   Chicago

    Definitely a scam

     
    13.
    Member
    3,619 posts
    Sugar bee
    msmonicka    June 19, 2010   Milwaukee, Wisconsin

    Um a similar thing happened to me...with a car. A guy bought it on ebay however he was oversees...he sent me a bank check for the cost of the car and a shiping company was suppose to pick it and take it there to him. When the bank check arrived it was for the cost of the car and the cost of the shipping whom I was suppose to pay. Seemed a little strange to me. The bank check looked official but I was suspicious of it from the beginning. Why would you send me the money to pay the shipping company? Why not just pay them yourself? The bank check was made out from a local bank in our area so I took it in and explained the situation to them and told them I just wanted to check to see if it was real. It in fact was a fake...the bank manager even sat down with and showed me a real one....it looked exactly the same except the fake has perforated edges and she said theirs are never like that. We contacted the police and filed a report. It was crazy but I'm glad I didn't attempt to cash the fake thru my bank or it coulda come back to bite me in the a$$.

    Another incident that happened to me ......my FI and I were looking for a new place and I thought I had found a fab one on craigslist.com....it was a single family home for rent. Absolutely beautiful....we got the address and drove by it...something was wrong...it looked totally inhabited and it didn't look like they were moving anytime soon. I emailed the person who listed the house and said that I really liked the house and was very interested. Someone emailed me back and was asking me to fill out an online application including all of our into...social security numbers ans all. Very suspicious....So I got on my computer and did a property tax assessment for the address and got the owners name and number. When I called him he was shocked that his house was listed as for rent. He said that he and his wife had lived there for 10 years and didn't pan to move. I gave him the web address for the ad and he thanked me. i then emailed the person who listed it and told them that I was reporting them.

    Its amazing what people will do to try and scam people. I wish nothing but bad things for these scammers!!

     
    14.
    14,581 posts
    Honey
    Beekeeper
    ejs4y8    June 20, 2009  

    Ditto, sounds like a scam. I wouldn't worry too much about your address, just be real good about checking your account activity (credit cards, debits, etc) if you use online banking and watch for weird mail like offers and crap

     
    15.
    Member
    2,515 posts
    Sugar bee
    Tulip61110    June 11, 2010   Philadelphia

    Definitely a no-no!

     
    16.
    Member
    277 posts
    Helper bee
    Jesso    May 2, 2009  

    ditto all, definitely a scam.  

    msmonicka---same thing happened to me!  a too good to be true craigslist posting of a house for rent and when they responded to my query it was all jumbled english:  "we are out of country.  send check to this address and we mail key to you.  you will like house."  uhhh....heck no.  (thankfully i hadnt even used my real email address)  

    i hate scammers.  why do people have to be like that?

     
    17.
    Member
    2,054 posts
    Buzzing bee
    skibobrown    July 31, 2010   CA (wedding in Bar Harbor, ME)

    Yes, this is a know scam.  A friend of a friend of mine fell for the same scam when subletting his apartment.  The renter sent a check for too much $$ "by accident", and then had the subletter send back the extra... except that the original check bounced.  The guy lost a few hundred dollars in the process :-(

    DON"T SELL YOUR DRESS TO THESE PEOPLE!!!

     
    18.
    Member
    39 posts
    Newbee
    blaque_sunrise    October 2, 2010   Atlanta

    Yes, this is a scam. Similar to the 419 scams listed on the website below. They have been floating around th web for years now. Same scam different plot. I have seen this check scam used to buy puppies, textbooks and many other items.

    http://www.419eater.com/index.php

     

    Reply

    You must log in to post.





    Visit our sister sites eHarmony
    Online Dating
    eHarmony Advice
    Dating Advice
    Project Wedding
    Wedding Songs
    JustMommies
    Pregnancy Calendar
    Copyright 2004-2012, Weddingbee.com
     

    Find your vendors on Weddingbee

    Real reviews from brides in your area!

    Favors by Weddingbee

    • Favors by season

    Shop Now ยป

    Find Registry Find Registry Find Registry

    More
    User Posts Today
    ellisrobertson 22
    MsPanda 14
    aduarte3201 14
    pengoala 11
    ShellVee 10
    londonchick 9
    londonpeach84 8
    KimKimmieKim 8
    ladyartichoke 6
    MrsBlueSeptember 6

    Technology


    Sorry, there are no users yet.


    More