(Closed) Are your friends & family supportive of your LDR?

posted 8 years ago in Long Distance Relationships
Post # 3
362 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: August 2010

My dad used to call Fiance “the figment” because I talked about him all the time but he’d never met him, lol.  Other than that, they were pretty supportive once I explained the whole LD deal to them.

Post # 4
18645 posts
Honey Beekeeper
  • Wedding: June 2009

It was sort of strange for my dad as well.  He thought that since we were in high school we weren’t serious but then near the end of school, he made me promise that I wouldn’t get married until I graduated!  Guess he took it seriously then!

Post # 5
651 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: May 2012

everyone is pretty supportive, since we were friends locally first and then went to different schools.  everyone in my family has met him and like him so there have been no issues.

Post # 6
3709 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2011

There have been a couple of close friends that I would say has been less then supportive. Overall though…my family and friends want me to do what makes me happy. My Fiance and I have to take some of the blame though b/c his schedule is so crazy, we tend to shut everybody else out and take what time we have for us and our kids. I figure once we are settled under one roof everybody else can get to know him then.

Post # 7
14186 posts
Honey Beekeeper

My friends were all incredibly supportive and understanding. My parents told me to kinda get over it. I don’t think they thought we’d make it, LOL. It seemed like too big of a task. And like any parent, they thought i was too good for him =]

Strangers are the worst—“Why didn’t you get married first? Why did you choose to stay in Rolla and finish school, NOT move to GA to be with him? Don’t you know military men have a girlfriend in every citY? I bet he’s cheating on you–he could SO get away with it”.

Good thing strangers are stupid =]

Post # 8
7975 posts
Bumble Beekeeper