(Closed) Hindsight for DIY projects is 20/20. Help others see the future!

posted 6 years ago in DIY
Post # 4
5154 posts
Bee Keeper

DIY invites have been a pain in the ass for me. I wanted really fancy invites and didn’t want to pay what they cost.. so I decided to make them myself! I am still not finished (not even close)..I still have to do the letterpress on my L letterpress..(which I have never used before) and I am not motivated at all. 

Post # 5
86 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: September 2011

I found that alot of the DIY things I wanted to do I could find cheaper on Etsy.

DIY sounds cheap…but make sure you really tally up all those little parts to complete your project. You may find that having someone else do it is cheaper and more cost effective.

And in the end..time is money. Sometimes its worth buying it then doing it yourself when your DIY projects pile up and you run out of time.

Post # 6
335 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: July 2011

echoing to fully consider the cost of invites before DIYing.  Mine still ended up being close to $1000 for 200 invites.  And it took several hours of sisterly and motherly love to complete. 

Post # 7
2192 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: May 2012

I will vote on pricing a 3rd time!  DIY to me is not a money saver, in some aspects it can be but for me it is a way to personalize and customize my wedding the way I want it.  Our STDs ended up being $300.  Could I totally of sent out the postcards from Vistaprint costing $22 as is?  Yes.  Would they be toted as “the cutest/most original/creative save the dates” that our guests have ever seen?  No.