(Closed) I’m crazy…I’m altering the Casablanca 1900 to have a v. diff top…am I?

posted 8 years ago in Dress
  • poll: Am I crazy?
    Yerp, you be crazy. : (4 votes)
    17 %
    I've seen alterations pay off, you can do it! : (13 votes)
    54 %
    Er...maybe, you're taking it a tad too far, maybe just add straps or something. : (7 votes)
    29 %
  • Post # 3
    1940 posts
    Buzzing bee
    • Wedding: July 2010

I would probably check with a seamstress to see if the alterations you would like are feasible.  It sounds like it requires deconstructing the gown and putting in back together (although I’m not a professional seamstress of anything).  

So will the top be a different color/fabric (champagne satin) that the rest of the dress?  I just couldn’t tell if you were just ordering the organza or the satin as well from the company.

Oh, and you’re dress is really pretty!

Post # 4
    179 posts
    Blushing bee
    • Wedding: April 2012

How about cap sleeves? they might work in a similar way, without destroying the dress…

Post # 6
    2889 posts
    Sugar bee

I also love the look fo the deep V with lace, however, I feel like this look only work if you have A or B cups. You mention a “larger rack” so I would suggest you try on dresses with that sort of top. I think it may be a bit too revealing and not offer any support. I guess if you like it then go for it.

Post # 7
    3219 posts
    Sugar bee
    • Wedding: November 2010

I did something kinda like that but i just sent a dress maker 2 dresses i liked. One was a a strapless ( i have big boobs too and didnt like the look) and then a V-veck dress with pretty straps. I havnt seen the dress yet  it wont be here till june but i got the sketch a few weeks ago.

Post # 8
    99 posts
    Worker bee
    • Wedding: June 2010