(Closed) It is time! So …. where do you go to get a marriage license anyway? …

posted 8 years ago in Legal
Post # 3
Member
1074 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: May 2009

This is going to vary by state (and maybe even county?). You should google “marriage license” and whatever your location is. In my case, in PA, we needed photo ID, our birth certificates and the fee with a check (no cash or CC!). We had to go to the county courthouse.

Post # 4
Member
1514 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: August 2009

It depends, like the previous person said.  When I got a marriage license in AZ, it was completely different when I got one in IA.  Google marriage licenses for your area.

Post # 5
Member
18 posts
Newbee

You go to the town hall. You need to have you and the grooms info (DOB, address, where born, social security number, etc), where you are getting married and who is officiating, where the ceremony will be held and the address and contact info for the venue. I am from Boston too so I at least know the MA laws. You can get a license from any town it doesn’t have to be the town that you live in or the town you are getting married in. For example, Boston I think it was $50 for a marriage license, Milton was $60, Natick was $20, etc………..Try to go at least a week in advance. We are getting married in 2 1/2 weeks and got ours last week. You go in and fill out the paperwork and then you go back like 2-3 business days later to pick it up. Hope that helps!

Post # 6
Member
2856 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: September 2009

This definitely all depends on your state or even county. For our case in Chester County, PA we only needed our driver’s license and $50 in cash. No blood tests or birth certificates needed. Another beauty about PA is that you can get your license in any county and it doesn’t have to be your residing county or the county you get married in.

Post # 7
Member
1064 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: October 2009

Every state is different, I just applied for mine this weekend. It was $28 dollars, they have to hold it for 3 days, we needed id and a witness. We brought passports, license and my mom. It’s good for 30 days. They will instruct you on what to do once it’s picked up.

We also needed to know where our parents were born so keep that in mind.

Post # 8
Hostess
18646 posts
Honey Beekeeper
  • Wedding: June 2009

I agree with the previous posters that it is different for every state.  In Colorado, you get your marriage license at the county clerk which was located at the DMV.  I found it by googling marriage license in your state.

Post # 9
Member
1363 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: June 2009

One more reminder: make sure that you get a marriage license for the same place as your venue!  There are several local jurisdictions near me, and just because you live in one place doesn’t mean that’s where you go for your marriage license.  

Post # 10
Member
2066 posts
Buzzing bee

It depends.  In Texas, you must get your marriage license in the county you are getting married in.  All you need is your driver’s license and a check for the fee.  The license must be issued 72 hours before the ceremony and its good for 30 days.

Check the laws where you are getting married.

Post # 11
Member
5273 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: October 2009

@texasmeredith: where did you read that? I checked our Dallas county website and it says that a Texas Marriage License can be used for ceremonies in other states & even other countries.

Post # 12
Member
3316 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: October 2009

AnnieAAA, looks like there is a typo on the site.  You cannot use a license from one state for a marriage in another state or country.  Whether you can use a license from one jurisdiction of a state for a marriage in a different jurisdiction depends on the state.  Massachusetts allows it, but some states do not.

The topic ‘It is time! So …. where do you go to get a marriage license anyway? …’ is closed to new replies.

Find Amazing Vendors