(Closed) long sorry & this might sound selfish but…

posted 8 years ago in Bridesmaids
Post # 3
6598 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: August 2010

I would try to reconnect with her!

I know Grad Students get busy (I am doing a PhD myself) but you always have time for a meal and she would probably like a pilates break to decrease stress!

It doesn’t sound like there is anything negative between you so I don’t think you can demote her as Maid/Matron of Honor because then there really would be something negative between you. There was a great friendship there so reconnect and rekindle that great friendship!

Good Luck

Post # 4
2344 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: June 2010

I agree that you should do your best to rekindle your friendship. Obviously there was a reason you asked her in the first place, and I would try to rediscover that before you give up. If you reach out several times with invitations to go to dinner or just hang out, and she blows you off, or things just clearly will not ever be the same, then I could see you gently explaining to her that you think your lives have changed so much since when you first got engaged that you would understand if she would rather not have such a big responsibility in your wedding. But I think you are really jumping the gun to consider that right now… give your friendship another good try first! I understand that maybe you made a rash decision, but I think you will still be happy to have a good friend beside you, than to go through the stressful and awkward process of demoting her.

Post # 5
2641 posts
Sugar bee