Post # 1
Here is the low down…. I have no wedding date set as of yet! We dont know when we want to get married. It could be as early as 3 weeks from now or a year from now. We could do it in Vegas, we could wed in our hometown. We have put no limitations on any of this. We are a spontanious…. but with that being said, if I purchase my marriage license now, doesnt it expire within a certain amount of time. And if we dont get married in that certain amount of time, do I have to payfor another one or just get the previous bought one, renewed. (I have not bought one yet). Supposedly there is only a 3 day turn around when purchasing the license but who knows how we will wed. If we wed and don’t have the license, can’t it just be signed afterwards when we purchase it???
Any advice on the marriage license?
Post # 3
- Wedding: March 2012 - Pelican Grand Beach Resort
You must have a license for the state you wish to marry in. A license from FLorida will do you no good in Vegas. In Florida, unless you have had premarital counseling that meets the standards of the county issuing the license, there is a 3 day wiating period from application to the license being valid, so you must get your license at least three days in advance. It is good for 60 days. After that, you have to apply for and pay for a new one, and they run about $100 if I remember correctly (if you haven’t had counseling).
Post # 4
@Miss Pez: On top of having to get a license for the state you will get married in, the rules vary between states. Here, you have a 24 hour waiting period from the time you apply and it never expires. Other states have rules with no waiting period and the license expires after 3 months. It just depends.
Post # 5
In GA you dont have a waiting period you can do it the same day, and it expires after 30 days. atleast ours did. you can get your licenses in any county, as long as you get married in that state you are fine.
Post # 6
There is no expiration date in Georgia
There is no residency requirement in Georgia, but if you are not a resident then you will have to obtain your Georgia marriage license from the county in which you are going to marry.
There is no waiting period in Georgia. Once the County Clerk’s Office has issued you your marriage license you may marry immediately afterwards.
Length Marriage License is Valid
Unlike most states, once a Georgia marriage license is issued it will not expire.
Though it is not officially required, premarital counseling is official endorsed by the state of Georgia. If you choose to get pre-marriage counseling then you will receive a discount of the marriage license. See “Fees and Taxes” above. Also, the premarital education must be completed within 12 months prior to the application for a marriage license and the couple must undergo the education together.
Each state has its own requirements
Post # 7
Each state is different, so you need to decide where and when and then act accordingly. We were married in Maine. There was no waiting period, and the license was valid for 90 days.
Post # 8
@mrsrigsby60: Thanks for this.. im thinking about getting mine with my wedding 4 months away. Ill do it now since it wouldnt expire. Thanks