(Closed) Massachusetts or Boston area rustic venue help!

posted 6 years ago in Boston
Post # 3
Member
207 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: August 2014

Have you checked out Salem Cross Inn? We loved it but it’s a bit far from our ceremony site. The reception is in a barn and the prices seem reasonable. Cocktail hour is outside and there are flowers, rolling hills and actually cows in the distance! If your ceremony would be there, they have a pretty gazebo for it. The coordinator was friendly and available. Publick House is also in that area but isn’t specifically a barn. It’s very country though! I’m still in the midst of looking for the right venue as well so I can keep you updated. What was the venue in Spencer? Zukas? We looked at that one and that one is still on the table. We looked at Harrington Farm as well but that was on the pricey side (probably similar to the Barn at Gibbet Hill). I’d like to hear others ideas as well!

Post # 5
Member
1306 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: August 2012

I am not sure what area of MA you are looking for, but if you are around the southeastern area, I suggest Bittersweet Farms, which is located in Westport, MA. They are a rustic barn, but it is 2 floors (which my FI did not like). They also have a nice patio, and the view is lovely. I think the max for guests is 130 or 150, I can’t really remember. Good luck!

Post # 6
Member
8 posts
Newbee
  • Wedding: February 2013

Try Harrington Farm in Princeton, Mass. (a 1.5 hour drive west of Boston).  It ended up being our very, very close second choice, and just slightly more rustic than I was going for.  The woman I dealt with there was very nice and accommodating.  The prices were reasonable in my opinion (however we were looking to do it in the off-season).  Good luck!

http://harringtonfarm.com/ 

Post # 7
Member
381 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: April 2013

We looked atHarrington! I loved t! We ended up choosing Gibbet hill off season. The outside views are gorgeous. There is a barI called the scout house in Bedford orconcord. Def cheap and you can do your own decorating!! 

Post # 9
Member
6249 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: August 1900

Stoneover Farm – Lenox, MA – http://www.stonoverfarm.com/

Old Sturbridge Village – Sturbridge, MA – http://www.osv.org/museum/weddings.html

Publick House Country Lodge – Sturbridge, MA – http://www.publickhouse.com/

Maudslay Arts Center – Newburyport, MA – http://maudslayartscenter.org/functions/

Bucksteep Manor – Lenox, MA – http://www.bucksteepmanor.com/weddings.htm

Friendly Crossways – Harvard, MA – http://www.friendlycrossways.com/outdoor-weddings/

Griffin Museum of Photography – Winchester, MA (has outdoor water wheel) – http://www.griffinmuseum.org/private_parties.htm

Essex Conference Center – Essex, MA – http://www.eccr.com/massachusetts-wedding-venue.html

The Conners Center – Dover, MA – http://www.bc.edu/offices/retreat/weddings.html

Arrowhead Acres – Uxbridge, MA – http://www.arrowheadacres.com/weddings-banquets.htm

Rowe Center – Rowe, MA – http://www.rowecenter.org/

Quonquont – Whately, MA – http://www.quonquont.com/index.htm

Gedney Farm – New Marlborough, MA – http://gedneyfarm.com/

Red Barn (Hampshire College) – Amherst, MA – http://www.hampshire.edu/specialprograms/2817.htm

The Ranch Golf Club – Southwick, MA – http://www.theranchgolfclub.com/food-beverage.php

Alfalfa Farm Winery – Topsfield, MA – http://www.alfalfafarmwinery.com/services.html

Arabian Horse Inn – Sudbury, MA – http://www.arabianhorseinn.com/

Bascom Lodge – Adams, MA – http://bascomlodge.net/Weddings_Parties.html

Bittersweet Farm – Westport, MA – http://www.lafrancehospitality.com/bittersweet-farm-weddings/

Charlton Orchards – Charlton, MA – http://www.charltonorchard.com/events.htm

________________________

Flag Hill Winery – Lee, NH – http://www.flaghill.com/fhwinery/weddings/index.php

Mill Falls – Meredith, NH – http://millfalls.com/conferences_events/index.htm

________________________

Helpful Website:   http://www.rusticbride.com/category/massachusetts

 

 (Sorry if someone already mentioned something on this list!)

 

Post # 10
Member
12821 posts
Honey Beekeeper
  • Wedding: November 1999

@Coffeelady:  I’ve been to quite a few weddings at Harrington Farms, and they’re all fantastic.  The Harding Allen Estate is also really nice! 

Post # 11
Member
69 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: October 2012

we looked at harrington farms…but decided on blissful meadows golf club in uxbridge. it was a random find…drove by and saw from the road. the buildings are from an old farm turned into a golf club…so the reception hall is actually a restored victorian era barn. it gives you the barn look but its a function hall so you have indoor bathrooms and don’t have to source tables and catering. also it’s less expensive than harrington

 

http://www.blissfulmeadows.com/sites/courses/layout9.asp?id=670&page=37369

 

Post # 12
Member
878 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: July 2012

baystatebride hit most of them – nice list!

I checked out the maudsley farm in newburyport – it’s a beautiful field and park area. I think it’s about 2k to rent, probably less in october. Definitely affordable. They have really cheap plastic chairs though and no AC which is why I crossed it off the list.

Great vintage/rustic setting though! Great place outdoors for beautiful pics.

Post # 13
Member
78 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: October 2012

@megabrooke:  This isn’t a barn but kind of rustic. Have you looked into The Willowdale Estate?

Post # 15
Member
3226 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: October 2010

I wanted to get married at camp Kiwanee. It’s gorgeous!!!

Post # 16
Member
1375 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: September 2012

Not a barn, but still has the rustic vibe. Try the Rockport Art Association Building. It is perfect for greets list of about 120 and would be super pretty in October. You have to bring in all thevendors, but the rental fee is only $1500.

The topic ‘Massachusetts or Boston area rustic venue help!’ is closed to new replies.

Find Amazing Vendors