October 2014 DIY Bees!

posted 3 years ago in October 2014
Post # 3
84 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: October 2014

I’d say my wedding is 90% DIY. I’m a designer for Zazzle.com so i’m designing all my own save the dates, invites, thanks yous, and programs. The save the dates and invites will include engagement photos.

I’ll be arranging my own bouquets by purchasing from a local flower wholesaler. Simple white with pops of green, not totally settled on the types of flower yet. Something like this…

Centerpieces are glass bowls full of green apples and water topped with possibly hydrangeas. A more full floral topping then this example….

Friend of the family will make this stage/arbor for us which will serve as ceremony space and private first dance space which i think will make stunning pics lit up in the dark.

FH and his brother will build this dance floor (but will not paint it checkboard like the pics) http://www.yourhomebasedmom.com/how-to-build-a-dance-floor/

Today I finished canning homemade apple butter for wedding favors.

It’ll also be an “ipod wedding”(speaker system, ipod, tada!) and a homemade buffet dinner. Its relaxed, rustic, and at a friend of the family’s estate. Sure we’re gonna cook our butts off to prep but i wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

Post # 4
93 posts
Worker bee

@sayanything:  They’ll change their tune once they actually see what you make, I’m sure 🙂

@kaleko:  Wow I am so jealous of your skills. Please please please post what you come up with!! 🙂

As for me, I’ll almost definitely design my invites/STDs myself. I don’t have any formal training but I’ve got a good eye for it. FMIL and I are also doing the centrepieces ourselves. I posted a thread in the decor forum about it, but here are the pictures of our “first drafts”: