Post # 1
In Ohio licenses are good for 60 days once you get it. Since I work in marriage licensing a lot, I am jealous when i see people coming in who are my date twin. The only reason we haven’t gotten our license yet is because rather than one of my coworkers doing the license, the Probate Judge, for whom I have worked for 8 and a half years is going to sign it and we will have some pictures. I think it is going to happen next week!!!!!
Post # 3
@calico61979: that is really exciting and I’m glad you brought this up (reminded me)! In TX licenses are only good for 30 days so we will go sometime in September I suppose. I’ll probably have to take a day off just to do it haha.
Post # 4
lucky! ours is only good for 15 days so we have to get it like… 3 days before the wedding when he comes into town x_x
Post # 5
In MT they are good for 180 days! It seems really long but that’s fine with us. 🙂 So we can go in anytime but will probably go in sometime in September.
Post # 6
even with 60 days, most people go shortly before their wedding. I would rather get it here soon and then not have to worry about it. It amazes me how we will get a call on friday after we close and people forgot about getting their license. i think that would be a nightmare!
that seems strange for the licenses to be good only 15 or 30 days. not much time that’s for sure. and 180 seems like a lot, i would be afraid to get it that early and then forget where i put it!
Post # 7
California is 90 days so we got ours already! I wanted it OFF my plate 🙂
Post # 8
I did some research on this for my state. In WI its only good for 30 days. I will be getting married next October and will get it some time in September.
Oh and I also found out, that u have to get a marriage license in the county where u will be getting married. I didnt know that. Though now that Im writing it, its so obvious.lol
Post # 9
I’m getting mine the day before my wedding, which technically isn’t in october, but close enough. We have a wedding planner and she’s taking care of all the little details, we just have to meet her at the registrar’s office.
Post # 10
You guys are gonna trip out. We looked up all the laws in every state the other day beause we were curious…. In SC THEY DON’T EXPIRE!! Tell me if that doesn’t sound liked a bad idea!! It’s the only state like that.
Btw, we are going friday.
Post # 11
Utah’s is only good for 30 days, but can be used immediatly, meaning no wait time. We can go down there one day, get the license with only photo id and the two of us, and then go get married that second if we wanted to lol
We plan on getting it sometime in September….I want to do it on like the 29th day before HAHA 🙂
Post # 12
there is no wait period in Ohio either. We have several couples who come in to get their license and then go get married by the Judge or at the wedding chapel across the street. In Ohio, you get the license in the county you reside in and then it is good all over the state of Ohio. We have to turn away so many couples because they don’t live in our county. We still have done about 5700 licenses this year, crazy, huh?
Post # 13
We’re going next Friday when I get off work early for the holiday weekend.
In Virginia you can get the license in any county..it doesn’t have to be the one you’re getting married in. Also, there’s no waiting time. It does expire in 60 days though!
Post # 14
In my county in Michigan, the license is valid on the 3rd day, for 33 days, so I will probably get it about 2 weeks before the wedding.
Actually, Fiance couldn’t believe this when I told him, but only one person needs to be present to get the license! Apparently that’s not the norm?
Post # 15
In PA they are good for 60 days and take about 7 to 10 days to get mailed back to you. We are going down to the local courthouse the first week of September.
Post # 16
in Ontario they’re good for 90 days; we’re probably going in the latter half of September.