(Closed) Personal Information Disclosed – What can be deleted

posted 5 years ago in Weddingbee
Post # 3
Member
64 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: September 2018

Interesting question. Once your identity is known, everything you have previously posted takes on a different perspective. I don’t think being able to delete all previous posts is good for the integrity of the boards (ie threads will stop making sense). I don’t understand why someone is “outing” another member. When has this actually happened? I just don’t really understand how or why this happens.

I am a member of some boards that don’t allow deletion or editing, and require that you use your real full name. Every individual is responsible for the content they post, and knows that their statements will be enduring.

I hope to not post anything that I will later feel the need to distance myself from.

I don’t know if this is relevant or helpful, it is just what came to mind when I read your post.

Post # 4
Member
2877 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: March 2013

@AB Bride:  how does deactivating an account work? you stop posting but the older posts are still there?

Post # 5
Member
650 posts
Busy bee

these threads have me seriously regretting anything personal that I posted on this site.

Post # 7
Member
508 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: April 2013

@newname_99:  When you deactivate your account, you’re basically not able to post, send PMs. You can still log-in and lurk about, but you just cannot interact.  So, just as AB Bride has said. But your previous posts and threads do not get deleted, no.

Post # 8
Member
1078 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: March 2014

@AB Bride:  on another similar thread this past weekend someone said that no social media allows you to delete all your posts even after you deactivate. They have fb as an example but that is simply not the case since you can delete your comments or posts at any time. I think we should definitely have the ability to delete our threads. Sometimes a bee might need advice on something that does not need to linger on the Internet forever.

Post # 10
Member
1078 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: March 2014

@AB Bride:  oh okay, I see what you are referring to. In that case definitely!

Post # 12
Member
365 posts
Helper bee

@Blush.Champagne:  Deleting everything off your FB is not that simple. Even if you delete your whole account, things are still *there*.

Here’s an experiment for you try: Upload a photo to Facebook, copy the URL of that photo, and then delete the photo. Try the URL. It usually still works. It can work for months. There’s just no clear link to it.

I think some comments, etc. can still remain, as well… I could be wrong. At any rate, you can’t just delete all your comments with a single push of a button without deleting your whole account. You’d need to go to every single wall of every single person you’ve ever commented on, go to every single photo you’ve ever liked, etc. etc. And if you delete messages from your inbox, they stay in the inbox of the people you were talking to.

The internet is a scary place; this isn’t new.

The topic ‘Personal Information Disclosed – What can be deleted’ is closed to new replies.

Get our weekly roundup of the best of Weddingbee.
I agree to receive emails from the site. I can withdraw my consent at any time by unsubscribing.

Find Amazing Vendors