- Blog
- Bios
- Boards
- Classifieds
- DIY
- Gallery
- Vendor Reviews
- Shop Weddingbee
Probably so he doesn't sound like a scammer! Glad you did your research!!
This is a good reminder that people need to remember to use their common sense when selling something online.
Remember when you are the seller, the buyer sends you money, NEVER the other way around.
If they want to send you a large postal money order or cheque on condition that you send them the excess after shipping charges, be 100% certain the money order is fraudulent. You will find that their cheque bounces, or the money order is fraudulent and you will be oyt the amount you refundedto them.
If they cant send you the total sum including shipping by some legitimate method, dont entertain any thoughts of selling them your item.
You'll get TONS of replies like that through Craigslist. That's why you should accept paypal or cash only for the dress, anyone who offers up a check or money order, just delete their e-mail.
I fuck with those scammers. I had one trying to buy our old TV and they were going to send a check for more than what I was asking for, but would send a "shipper" to get the difference since they were buying other items in my area. They were out of town so had to use a "shipper"
I was like okay awesome! Send us the check! We gave them our P.O. Box and sure as shit two days later there was a "check" for way over the amount we asked for and a note where to meet the "shipper"
We took a photo of the check with ourselves and sent a message back that we are cashing the check, killing the shipper, and moving to Mexico.
Ha ha ha ha, the emails that followed after that were priceless.
We shredded the check and reported the email address to CL and some other agency. Some of these scammers are just dumb.
If you get an email "I would like to buy your item that you have posted on the Craigslist" run!
I had the same thing happen to me. I was tickled pink that I got a response through CL. When I read the e-mail about them wanting an address and then involving a shipper, I was so upset. I have to agree with courtney1188.
As soon as I started reading, I could tell it was fishy... the English was broken and he just sounded funky. Well hopefully I'll sell the thing one day! And we were going to accept paypal and mention it to him but we found this out ahead of time. Good thing!
@Miss Tattoo: lmao those emails had to be pretty funny I got a check for being a office assistant, it was like for 3000 he said to wire it to some charity or whatever. I didn't do it and next thing you know I got a email from that person saying they would take legal action against me to retrieve it I just LOLed because I had already thrown it out.
You must log in to post.
| Visit our sister sites | eHarmony Online Dating |
eHarmony Advice Dating Advice |
Project Wedding Wedding Songs |
JustMommies Pregnancy Calendar |

| User | Posts Today |
|---|---|
| MissBoPeep | 81 |
| hisgoosiegirl | 45 |
| beargoose | 44 |
| Mrs.KMM | 41 |
| akp0702 | 41 |
| ndreighton | 38 |
| stardustintheeyes | 36 |
| MrsPom | 35 |
| BetterSherm | 35 |
| Beckster329 | 33 |
| User | Posts Today |
|---|---|
| MerryWidow | 5 |
| Jade33 | 5 |
| Sunfire | 5 |
| mags2233 | 4 |
| cardnasac | 4 |
| ananombee | 4 |
| 2PeasinaPod | 3 |
| MrsMagnus | 3 |
vorpalette |
3 |
| NotAnotherAnonBee | 3 |
Ok ladies... just had to vent. I'm trying to sell my dress on Craig's List and I finally got a bite at it! Well my Fiance just told me "This guy sounds fishy..." So I googled his name and there's a 14 page complaint website about him! He claims to be a Pastor buying a dress for a bride. I just had to vent becuase I was excited someone finally wanted to buy it but now this happened. Luckly we caught it before the Fiance gave him any information! Here's the website about him: http://800notes.com/Phone.aspx/1-304-759-8696 Kinda shady you would claim to be a Pastor but you're a scammer...