- Blog
- Bios
- Boards
- Classifieds
- DIY
- Gallery
- Vendor Reviews
- Shop Weddingbee
You know what? I've received an email from weddingbee - a so called member, but when I logged into the site, there were no messages?? I just never thought anything of it.
I'm been trying to sell on wedding bee, craigslist, oncewed too, and have gotten numerous scam buyers, you can usually tell if it's a scam, all of mine are "i want to buy your dress NOW, what's your full name and full address so I can send you a check" uhm first of all if someone is seriously buying a wedding dress, they should ask me like a million questions and ask me for like a million pictures before they committ...so all my responses to those were "i only accept paypal" and then i don't hear from them ever again.
I've gotten a scam very recently for a dress I have posted on OnceWed as well. At first I thought it was legit, then they started saying how'd they'd only pay with a cashiers check. I told then nope, PayPal ONLY about a dozen times and they finally stopped emailing me.
Ugh, it was frustrating.
We were selling a buffet/hutch on Craigslist and had this happen. Some guy contacted my FI and siad that he was out of town but was willing to pay us more than asking price and he would send us a cashier's check and come pick up the hutch when they got back. Then he called my FI again and said that he sent a check for a lot more and would we cash it and get him the change. ??? I laughed when I opened the check. It was the most fake lokking thing I'd ever seen. My FI stopped taking the calls from that # and we haven't been bothered since.
SanDiego- I had the same thing happen. All they would do was a cashiers that she kept saying she would deposit into my account. Yeah, umm...NO!
Ladies,
Thank you so much for the heads up :) I just posted my dress on OnceWed and it helps me so much to be aware of scams such as these!
Thanks again, I appreciate your honesty!
You must log in to post.
| Visit our sister sites | eHarmony Online Dating |
eHarmony Advice Dating Advice |
Project Wedding Wedding Songs |
JustMommies Pregnancy Calendar |

| User | Posts Today |
|---|---|
| MissBoPeep | 90 |
| beargoose | 54 |
| hisgoosiegirl | 51 |
| ndreighton | 51 |
| Mrs.KMM | 46 |
| BetterSherm | 42 |
| akp0702 | 41 |
| stardustintheeyes | 36 |
| Beckster329 | 36 |
| MrsPom | 35 |
| User | Posts Today |
|---|---|
| Gemstone | 2 |
| koi424 | 2 |
| MonicaRamirez | 1 |
| PinkPinstripes | 1 |
| Sasha2011 | 1 |
| MrsOliveBird | 1 |
| Mudonthetires | 1 |
| mags2233 | 1 |
| MrsElopement | 1 |
| ladyartichoke | 1 |
I have listed my wedding dress for sale on Weddingbee as well as Craigslist and OnceWed.com, so far I have recieved more than 6 email attempts that are scammy from all 3 ads. The one in particular that stands out for me was the email from "Weddingbee" alerting me to a PM from 'member' anne0021. The email was sent to the email address I have on file with Weddingbee, in the exact format as I usually recieve these alerts. However, when I logged in to my Weddingbee account I had no new PM's, there was no record on this site of this message.
In the email it displayed the 'message', basically saying that this person Anne was interested in my dress and please contact her directly through her email. I did this and Anne proceeded to ask me immediately about monetary issues, and she didn't even know my asking price which is very clear in the ad. Offered to pay me more than my asking price and that the whole thing needed to be rushed, also everything in VERY broken english. Informed me that she would be taking care of shipping through 'her shipping company.'
I informed Mr. Bee of this this, asked him to verify that this person was indeed a Weddingbee member, but did not hear back from him.
The fact is some scammer was clever enough to replicate the Weddingbee email alert and sent it to people selling stuff in the Classified section. This is a way for them to get people to talk off the site. Maybe they have no account in the first place, or maybe they have negative PM's from people who fell for the scam and said so on the site.
Once I get all the names and email addresses of the human failures who try to bilk people out of there money and/or stuff I will post them here so you all can protect yourselves. I've recieved scam emails from all 3 of the ads I've posted. In the meantime here is a website I found while googling some of those names:
http://craigslistscammer.blogspot.com/2008/10/scammers-try-to-buy-wedding-dress.html
Good luck ladies.