Should Apartment locations be 50/50

posted 2 years ago in Home
Post # 2
2549 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: September 2015

Go see places that he likes and that you like.  Don’t make and quick decisions and discuss options after the viewings.  There should be ample communication.

Post # 3
2791 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2015 - Walnut Hill Bed & Breakfast

It’s tough. We had a similar problem when buying a house. I’ve been driving 35+ miles each way to work every day for 5 years while living ith my parents. He’s been driving 4 miles to work. His work is 30 miles from my work so we pretty much had no choice but to look “in the middle”.  I wanted to look a little closer to his work (20mi for me, 10mi for him) because it’s closer to a nice town but all the houses in that area that we could afford were old – lots of charm but lots of upkeep and we really like a modern style and open concept. The town has been there for a long time so that’s just how it was. The homes outside the town on the side I wanted to be on were mostly 100k over our budget.  In the end we ended up 12 miles from my work and 15 miles from his. I feel a little bad because he now has a much longer commute than he’s used to but it cut mine so much and will save me lots in gas/tolls. I’m also more “tied down” to my job than he is and I make a lot more so it worked out. There are plenty of oppertunites out my direction for him if he hates the commute and decides he wants to do something else. 

Post # 4
3388 posts
Sugar bee

llcoolray:  Both of you make a list of some important factors about the new place you want to live in and go from there.  Determine which ones are deal breakers and which ones can be worked around.

My husband just moved into my house, but had we been considering a new place this is what would have gone in our thought process.