TSH level 5.110

posted 3 years ago in TTC
Post # 3
1944 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: May 2013

I just had my thyroid tested after a chemical pregnancy and my TSH level was 4.7.  However my T4 levels are normal, so its not considered hypothyroid YET.  But probably will someday.  Your doctor should order a full thyroid panel (TSH, T4 and T3) and decide on a course of treatment, if necessary.  Thyroid disorders usually cause irregular periods, which is why there is trouble TTC.  If you are ovulating and have normal periods, it will be less of a problem!

But I’m not a doctor, so definitely discuss with one!

Post # 4
4440 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: June 2013

Wouldn’t that be Hyperthyroidism? If your results are high? I could be wrong…

Post # 5
3756 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: April 2014

@BellaDee:  No, it’s Hypo. 

Mine was 3.5 with a normal range for my doc between .2 and 4.2. HOWEVER, the level for a pregnant woman should be UNDER 2.0! So I would push to be treated. I had a MC in June and that’s when I had my levels checked. T4 is normal, but TSH was 3.5. Two months after starting 50mcg of Levothyroxine it’s normal. My family has a history of hypo and my sister was borderline (higher side of the normal range, same as me) in her late teens and was struggling with depression. She’s been on Levo ever since. She’s had two healthy pregnancies and they modify her dosage as needed. 

ETA: We have still been trying, although not aggressively since June and no BFPs yet, but keeping hope alive 🙂 It’s almost been a year of TTC with just the one MC so far. No charting/temping, just going off CM and other symptoms, I have a regular 28 day cycle. Although since the MC it’s varied between 25 and 28 days, which is still considered normal. 

Post # 6
1944 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: May 2013