(Closed) 1 house, 5 INVITES?!

posted 8 years ago in Etiquette
  • poll: Should we send invites per guest or per household?
    PER GUEST It doesn't matter how many adult children are under one roof, what Miss Manners says, goes : (7 votes)
    12 %
    PER HOUSE That's a silly outdated custom, save the money, list all names on one invite : (47 votes)
    78 %
    OTHER Explained below : (6 votes)
    10 %
  • Post # 3
    13099 posts
    Honey Beekeeper
    • Wedding: July 2010

If you are really looking to cut down your costs on invites, I think you could shift your age a little bit and say “If you are still in college (undergrad), you get invited with your parents”.  But after I graduated college, I’d be a little peeved to not get my own invite, even if I was still living at home.

EDIT – note, I wouldn’t not attend or anything drastic like that if I didn’t get a seperate invite.  I just think its a respect thing.  They are grown adults even if they are still living at home (for whatever reason) and inviting them with their parents treats those grown adults like little kids.  Kinda rude IMO.

Post # 4
    541 posts
    Busy bee
    • Wedding: March 2011

I’d say it depends how old the ‘children’ are. If they are still teens (even 18 or 19) I’d keep it under “mr. and mr. x and family.” If they are older, like in their twenties I’d give them separate invites. I’ve had invites both ways. Some people will get offended and not attend. I don’t mind, especially if it’s family or my parent’s friend’s kids.

Post # 5
    1962 posts
    Buzzing bee

@Mrs.KMM: Not for nothing, if I graduated from college and was still living at home I would have a lot more to worry about than getting an invite not specifically addressed to me.

Post # 6
    966 posts
    Busy bee
    • Wedding: May 2011