(Closed) 1 month out- photographer regret

posted 6 years ago in Photos/Videos
Post # 3
484 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: April 2013

@BooRadley:  I totally feel this way.  I wish I could make the decision again.  I don’t even know that I’d find anyone I would like better, though.  Since I am a pro photog, this is one area that was just going to be tough for me no matter what.  We got our engagement photos back recently and they were fine… but I didn’t love them, and I know part of that is because they I weren’t how *I* would have taken them.

That being said… I’m definitely not going to shop around.  If you had hired an inexperienced photog or someone whose quality of results you were really worried about, I’d tell you to find someone else… but if it’s just a case of a different style, I’d probably say it’s not worth losing the deposit over. 

If you don’t care about losing the deposit, I guess you could look at other photogs.  But if the one you have hired is professional and does great work, I’d feel terrible for her as even though she won’t refund your deposit she probably won’t get another wedding for your date with only a month to go.

Why don’t you share your hired photog’s website?  Then we can tell you how wonderful she is and make you feel better!  (Or we can tell you that you should run away…lol).

Post # 4
2363 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: October 2012

@BooRadley:  You’re crazy!

:p

But in all seriousness, the vast majority of your wedding photos will be candid moments, not posed portraits or detail shots.  It’s easy to lose sight of that when all you see on wedding blogs are portraits and detail shots (and I wanted those, too!), but it sounds like your photographer will be able to capture the moments that matter.  You made a great decision!

Post # 5
1314 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: May 2006