(Closed) 3 kids in the same class with the same name?

posted 8 years ago in Babies
Post # 3
289 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: December 2010

Funny thing is I was looking at the top list for 2000 earlier and I’m pretty sure all three of the names you mentioned as being common – Christian, Jaden or Noah – were listed.

My name is Michelle, but until 6th grade, I went by Missy. Pretty much every year there was a Michelle, Misty or Missy in my class. Now at work, I work with several Michelles (which was popular because the Beatles song, I came in at the end of that wave of popularity, but there are a lot of Michelles a little older than me).

Post # 4
9053 posts
Buzzing Beekeeper
  • Wedding: June 2010

I graduated in a class of 200, with 9 Jennifers, 6 Nicoles and 5 Ashleys. 

I’d be curious to see nowadays what percentage of the populaton holds the current #1 most common name in any given year compared to back when these names were popular.

Post # 5
1729 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: July 2012

I would definitely agree that the diversity here plays a big role in this. We also see a lot of names here that you don’t really find anywhere else. How many “Malia’s” or “Kalani’s” do you know, for example? I know a few. haha.

My friend who is a first-grade teacher at a private school in Seattle has 8 boys in her class, and 5, yes FIVE of them are some form of “Aiden.” How crazy is that?!

Post # 6
5494 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: August 2011

My high school class had about 235 kids.  I can’t even begin to count up all the girls named Katherine, Katie, Kat, Kaitlin or some other variation.  I would estimate about 15 girls with some variation of that name.  As a result a lot of those girls went by nicknames.

Post # 7
654 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: July 2010