(Closed) 6 wks preggo and no heartbeat! Is this normal? SCARED!

posted 7 years ago in Babies
Post # 3
2091 posts
Buzzing bee

I have no real experience with pregnancy, but I’ve read on WB many times that the heartbeat may not be hear-able until 8 or 9 weeks.

Post # 5
1 posts
Wannabee
  • Wedding: July 2012

You may not be able to hear a good strong heartbeat until 10 weeks!  Don’t worry I’m sure you’ve got a strong baby in you!

Post # 6
2313 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: August 2011

Calm down! This is totally normal and that is quite early to detect a heartbeat. Try to worry until you go back next week.

Post # 7
407 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: January 2011

It’s nearly impossible not to worry, but your Doctor could be (and hopefully is) totally right. This is only my first pregnancy so I’m by no means an expert about this kind of stuff, but from what I see, it seems in these early stages so much happens developmentally in such little time that even a day can make all the difference. I went in for an ultrasound at 5w and a few days and saw a yolk sac. One week later I saw the embryo and a flickering heart. It’s pretty amazing how quickly things can change and I feel every pregnancy develops that little bit differently from the next. I’m sure at your follow up everything will be looking great!

Post # 8
2907 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: July 2011

From the great medical knowledge of the TV show Grey’s Anatomy, a lot of places don’t do ultrasounds at 6 weeks because it can be too early to hear a heartbeat. (And they want to keep people from worrying about why they can’t see it yet. It’s just too early sometimes.)

Post # 9
7406 posts
Busy Beekeeper
  • Wedding: October 2010

My doctor does not send people till at least 8 to 9 weeks because it is too hard to hear the heartbeat before then.  Good luck!

Post # 10
389 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: April 2010