(Closed) Best Time of Day to Take OPK? & How Many?

posted 7 years ago in Babies
Post # 3
4038 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: October 2010

The instructions that came with my OPK recommended against using your morning pee, and waiting until the afternoon to test. Also, to hold it for 4 hours so the Lh has time to build up. I bought a big pack of cheap tests from Amazon (seriously like 40 test strips, so I test like 2x a day starting a week after the first day of my period. Also, because I’m weird and like to POAS. 

Post # 4
1221 posts
Bumble bee

I have heard not to use you first morning pee but at the same time i also heard to use it…. I bought a 50pk also from amazon & i test once in the morning and once after i get home in the afternoon (5pm-6pm)

This is my first time using the OPK’s

Post # 5
751 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: May 2010

I always used my first morning pee because I drink so much during the day my pee gets too diluted for the tests to be accurate.  Some tests say first morning, some say later in the day but really the surge lasts long enough that either should be fine. 

I say use it whatever time of day you can be consistent and get clear results. 

(btw–totally worked for me, I’m 12 weeks pregnant). 

Post # 6
3866 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: April 2012

I started last month and I took it after I got home.  Usually between 6:30 and 9, though I tried to keep it at the same time, so it was usually around 8.

It worked, too.  Not pregnant, but I DID get a smiley face on mine last month and have enough for another month or two.  

I went with the digital-type since I didn’t want to take chances and it was a good price on Amazon for it.  Hopefully this month or next will be successful, so I don’t have to buy any more!

Post # 7
2161 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: July 2011

I have already read that 2pm is the best time. 

Post # 8
165 posts
Blushing bee