(Closed) Candles 4 Less warning

posted 7 years ago in Decor
Post # 3
Member
5106 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: September 2011

Wow. I’m sure they’ll refund your money. I had a really good experience with them.

I had something similar happen with save-on-crafts.com. It was a two month ordeal that invovled the BBB. I was NOT happy.

Post # 4
Member
2793 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2011

Ick. That’s terrible. Did you ask if you could get the new bigger holders if you return these?

It will be interesting to see if it really will melt down. If it does, since your candles will probably be lit for a bit before your reception starts, it might all work out. Keep us posted!

Post # 5
Member
7694 posts
Bumble Beekeeper

@EdmontonAng:

You’ve paid quite a pretty penny for those.  I  hope they come through for you.  If for some reason they don’t-maybe you could add either lace or ribbon to the bottom?

Post # 6
Member
10367 posts
Sugar Beekeeper
  • Wedding: September 2010

Huh. I had such a good experience with them, too. That’s so frustrating! I hope they refund you. And if not, definitely just wrap the bottoms with ribbon or lace like the other posters said – nobody will be the wiser!

Post # 7
Member
59 posts
Worker bee

Wow, sorry that you had such a bad experience with them. Like others mentioned, I think something decorative like ribbon would be a good fix!

Post # 9
Member
642 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: July 2011

First, thanks for posting this.  I recently ordered some tapers from Candles 4 Less and am planning on purchasing 144 of the same votives you did…so now I will wait until they can confirm the *new* votive holders have arrived.  I’m not sure why they sold those to you as is, if they already knew this was a problem.  I’d be really surprised if they do not refund the shipping and send you the new holders once they have them in stock.  The good news is that it looks like you have plenty of time before your wedding.  

Again, many thanks for letting us all know and best of luck to you in getting this resolved. Please let us know the outcome!

Post # 10
Member
379 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: May 2018

Is it really that bad?  Yes, you paid quite a bit for them but I wouldn’t stress over 0.25″.  I mean… if you were at a wedding and the candle didn’t sit exactly flush at the bottom would you even notice?

I say try to get some money back from them but use the candles & votives as is.  I bet you’ll be the only one who notices.

Post # 11
Member
642 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: July 2011

@TamiN: I know I’m not the OP, but…after planning a wedding for 18 months (and being a lifelong perfectionist to boot) I can honestly say that this teeny, tiny detail that others might not notice would bug the hell out of me.  And at $300, candles should fit their advertised holders. I would be just as disappointed as the OP.

Post # 12
Member
3176 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2011

Um No. I would NOT be ok with that. Yes it is just a little bit but I agree with you when you buy something and they tell you it will fit. Then it better fit! I would be upset about this, especially after you paid that much money. I would notice this at a wedding (but I notice things like that). Sorry you have to deal with that.

Post # 13
Member
4887 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: May 2012

Depending on your theme/setting, could you at all fill the bottom with sand (or colored sand)?  Maybe tiny little gravel rocks that look like river rocks?  Tiny silver beads?

I do love the idea of a ribbon on the bottom though.  That’s a lot of work but worth it if they aren’t willing to work with you on a refund.

Post # 14
Member
128 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: October 2010

How frustrating!  That’s basically defective merchandise and you should definitely get your money back and/or a shipment of the larger holders. 

That’s really too bad – my experience with them was great, but I just ordered the candles from there.  They fit fine into all the candle holders I bought from Jamali Garden and a few other places.

Post # 15
Member
1361 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: April 2011

@KristenGotMarried: I’ve also seen candles/sand in the same container look great!  OP if you’re interested I think I have a pic somewhere.

I hope that works out for you…no excuses on their part for what happened!

Post # 16
Member
124 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: September 2011

Yeah, I agree with some of the above comments, sand or glitter or something could look really cool. 

Good to know about Candles 4 less, I was considering them for my pillars.  Prices notwithstanding, this is a lame thing that happened to so many people!

The topic ‘Candles 4 Less warning’ is closed to new replies.

Find Amazing Vendors