(Closed) DJ & Live Music company wants to charge $3,600…

posted 6 years ago in Music
Post # 2
35 posts
Newbee
  • Wedding: eloping

You make me so glad my wedding will cost under $100. haha This price is reasonable. I work as a entertainer at events in the NYC area, and my base rates start at $1000 per hour booking. A DJ and all that goes with it is much more intense setup, including all setup and lighting. Thats reasonable to get quality. Otherwise you might end up with a horrible sound and lighting system. Stay away from obnoxious MC’s though they are the worst thing at receptions. 

Post # 3
588 posts
Busy bee

I work with a wedding band and know plently of people who pay 5k just for cocktail hour + 3ish hours of live music in the DC metro area.

I’m sure you could find someone cheaper(companies usually inflate the costs a bit because they get a commision off of each booking typically), but the quality and professionalism might take a hit. Just my opinion though!

Post # 4
2314 posts
Buzzing bee

I would cut the percussionist

Post # 5
4073 posts
Honey bee

I paid $2500 in NY for just a DJ and no live music of any kind. Most bands I looked at quoted 7K+. I think the price is reasonable. Not sure what the percussionist is really going to add…I’d cut that if you want to trim the budget. 

Post # 7
453 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: July 2015