(Closed) Does this sound like a fraudulent buyer??

posted 11 years ago in Dress
Post # 32
6659 posts
Bee Keeper
  • Wedding: May 2010

I mean – is there any way that you can get the payment from her and sit on it to make sure it goes through?

Post # 33
493 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: December 1969

ModernDaisy, it wouldn’t even get to that point.  Once they get a fish on the line, the situation changes. “Oh we cannot use PayPal, will you take Western Union money order? We’re having an issue with the funding, so we’re going to send you extra. Out of that extra, for your inconvenience, please take an additional $300 for your troubles… and send back the rest” something like that but with terrible grammar.

Post # 34
687 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: October 2009

its a scam! never send anything to Africa, there are soo many press releases about this issue.

Post # 36
4122 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: October 2010

Bad grammer + africa = SCAM!  

So glad you ran away!

Post # 37
99 posts
Worker bee
  • Wedding: December 1969

<h3>Definitely a scam:</h3>

<h3>Craiglist Wedding Dress Scam</h3>

Submitted by Anonymous (not verified) on Tue, 2009/10/06 – 14:21.

<!– google_ad_section_start –>

I asked for $400 and [email protected] offered $580

“Thanks for getting back to me.The Demetrios 3133 Wedding dress is for my daughter wedding which is coming up in some days time.She works in the United states Consulate office in West africa.Am a very busy man and would like you to help me send this dress to my daughter in West Africa for her wedding.i will pay you the sum of $580.It will cover up for the cost of the dress and shipping of the Dress to my daughter in west africa.I will be paying you through PAYPAL,Its secure and reliable and it protects the two people involved in the transaction.I will need you send me a paypal request for payment so i can make the payment right away and hope you send the item to my daughter through the post office express mail Non Commercial Value..
Thanks for your help and understanding.”

Post # 38
170 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: May 2010

Hard to tell, but if you go for it make sure she  pays through paypal with a confirmed address and make sure you ship with tracking. If you can prove it got to her she can’t reverse the payment. Goood luck!

Post # 39
666 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: March 2010

I agree with everyone else.  Total scam.  Not even worth following up, except to report the email address to the website you are using.

Post # 40
135 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: July 2010

Sounds SOO fishy to me. I have a friend who was a foreign exchange student from China and got totally duped by a Nigerian scammer. They offered to buy his laptop from him and actually DID “pay” on a totally fake Paypal account. He sent the laptop over; the payment never went through. Poor guy, he got Nigeria mixed up with Niagara (Falls) and thought the buyer was from NY.

The topic ‘Does this sound like a fraudulent buyer??’ is closed to new replies.

Find Amazing Vendors