Post # 1
- Wedding: July 2019 - San Antonio, TX
We are getting married in Texas and I am not sure how we turn in our marriage certificate after the ceremony. We know we have to apply at least 72 hours in advance of the ceremony and then we have 90 days to get married before it expires. But how does it get to the courthouse afterwards? Do we take it back to the clerk’s office? Does the officiant usually record it?
Post # 2
Usually your officiant takes care of submitting it back to the court.
Post # 3
I’m in TX too and either my officiant or the coordinator at the chapel we got married in handled it. We didn’t have to do anything ourselves.
Post # 4
- Wedding: April 2019 - USA
berries9 : You can ask your officiant to file it with the clerk and recorder if that’s within their scope of services (some do it, some don’t), otherwise one of you can take the certificate back to the clerk & recorder to file it, or in some states you can actually mail it back. I’d not take the risk of it getting lost in the mail, though and just take it back myself. That’s what my husband and I did.
Post # 5
You usually have two options-
You can mail the certificate back to the court and they will file it when they receive it.
Or someone (you, your officiant, your mom, brother, aunt, friend, anyone) can take he certificate back to the court in person. The biggest reason to do this is if you need copies of your certified marriage certificate right away (for changing your name or adding on to bank accounts or whatever). If you go in person, you can get certified copies right then and there. If you mail it, you have to wait for them to receive it and process it before you can request copies.
Post # 6
Our officiant took care of everything for us.
Post # 7
I was wondering the same thing. Also, can anyone take it to the court or does it have to be the officiant/couple?
Post # 8
berries9 : From Texas Marriage Law
<h2 id=”license-return”> </h2>
<h3>When must my marriage license be returned?</h3>
Your officiant must return the marriage license to the issuing county clerk within 30 days after marriage.
although I have no idea how they would know if someone else mailed it to the county clerk. Just remember to have the officant sign the license and fill in the date and location.
Post # 10
We gave our officiant a stamped envelope and he’s sending it in after filling it out.