(Closed) How much were you earning right out of college(/grad/law/med/whatever school)?

posted 10 years ago in Career
  • poll: What was your yearly pre-tax salary right out of college? If shared finances, vote on that too.
    Under $4,999 : (2 votes)
    1 %
    $5,000 - $9,999 : (1 votes)
    0 %
    $10,000 - $29,999 : (56 votes)
    28 %
    $30,000 - $49,999 : (94 votes)
    46 %
    $50,000 - $79,999 : (36 votes)
    18 %
    $80,000 - $99,999 : (4 votes)
    2 %
    $100,000 and above : (9 votes)
    4 %
    Other -- explain! : (1 votes)
    0 %
  • Post # 3
    1664 posts
    Bumble bee
    • Wedding: May 2011

    We’re lawyers, so I voted on our first jobs out of law school.  We both went straight from college to law school.  The income may be higher, but the debt is higher too.

    Post # 4
    1724 posts
    Bumble bee
    • Wedding: May 2016

    The National average is a lot higher than I earn now, 11 years after being in the workforce following college graduation with my bachelor’s.  I started out at 6.50 an hour with benefits, which was more than minimum wage at the time, just barely, and got a ‘raise’ to 7.00 an hour after completeing my 3 month probabtion period.  I worked at the job for 7.5 years, had to pay more each year for my benefits and left for aother job while only making 19K a year (9.27/hour).  My SO had yet to finish school and there are not a lot of FT jobs here, AND we share one vehicle so commuting was not an option (One of us could get to work, but if he had to drive 45 mins to the nearest large city to work, I’d be walking or vice versa) and we’d lose  lot in gas, so it was all me for a while.

    My current job pays more fairly, but it’s still under 30K a year, even with 11 years expereince in the same field and a college degree.  Granted, I live in an area of the country where a lot of people don’t make much more, but I have also found that as a woman I will statistically be paid about 10K less than a man doing the same job with comperable education and expereince.  My BF found a FT job 4 years ago (he heard about the opening for the one I’ve got now through HIS work), and without finishing his degree started at 20K, and has now has a salary adjustment of 24K per year.  He stil has to finish his degree, and might get an increase based on that, but I’m not sure my department can raise my salalry – we’re grant funded, and the recession is just starting to hit pretty hard in our region.


    P.S. – I have a Bachelor’s of Fine Arts and work as a graphic designer.  (They didn’t offer web or computer based-graphic design when I was in school, so I’m self taught).  BF is doing a similar ob, and is also self taught.  He’s working towards the same degree I have.  I would like to one day get my Master’s, which would mean I could teach undergrad college leve if there was an opening and I had time for extra cash – I take freelance when it comes, but it’s not often around here, and I’m frankly exhausted from 40+ hour weeks that I hate working when I get home.

    Post # 5
    7691 posts
    Bumble Beekeeper
    • Wedding: August 2010

    Right out of college I worked as a vocational counselor for adults with mental illness. I was essentially a social worker. I managed a case load of 18 adults ranging from 20-65 with severe depression, bipolar and schizophrenia. I worked really hard and even worked unpaid overtime and went in with my clients to their new jobs on weekends or nights.

    I was making $27,500 when I first got hired. At my yearly review I got a raise to $30,000. However this is extremely low for the DC area. Had I not been living with DH at the time I would have struggled supporting myself.

    My second job out of college (after being with the first company for 13.5 months) I was making $38,000 plus stipends for my car and phone/internet. I was essentially a pharmaceutical rep. Total I made about $42,000.

    Post # 6
    340 posts
    Helper bee
    • Wedding: March 2011

    Right out of college I was making $62,500. Fiance was making the same. Combined about $125,000. We are both Computer Scientists. I don’t consider our circumstances typical considering that we are 22/21.

    Post # 7
    1160 posts
    Bumble bee
    • Wedding: May 2011

    I was a reporter and was thrilled when I was offered $25K. (Don’t laugh, I was young!) That’s pretty paltry for the DC area and made life quite difficult. But, like anything, it depends on where you live.

    Post # 8
    4693 posts
    Honey bee
    • Wedding: October 2013

    I didn’t go to college, but during high school I worked at McDonald’s, and by the time I graduated I was making $27,000/year.  Now I work as an office manager and I make $39,000/year. 

    Post # 9
    334 posts
    Helper bee
    • Wedding: May 2012

    I also live in the DC area, so my salary is pretty high for a right out of college.  Also I work in IT at a major corporation, so the salary and benefits are very competitive.  My starting salary was $62,000 and after 3 years I haven’t received a raise so it’s the same.  Fiance started at $62,000 as well, and after changing jobs now makes $70,000.

    Kant, I’m actually surprised there’s such a discrpency between IT jobs in DC and Pittsburgh!

    And By The Way, you have my dream job!  I’ve been working on taking free-lance jobs to build my portforlio, and hope to find a job at an in-house marketing and web-design firm (probably after the wedding).

    Post # 10
    676 posts
    Busy bee
    • Wedding: November 2009

    I have an Arts degree (psych major) and my first FT job right out of school was in sales with a base salary of 32K and I brought in about 10K in commissions. I was there for a 1.5 years and then moved into HR and my first job paid 50K.

    Post # 11
    582 posts
    Busy bee
    • Wedding: July 2010

    Right out of college, I went to grad school where I had a teaching assistantship and so earned a stipend. It was only $10k, and I made ends meet by living with my parents.

    When I finished that program, I got a job that was only part time where I made about $16k.

    After that year, I got a full-time teaching job that paid about $36k. (Two years experience and a second Masters will push that up to over 40k this year, woohoo!)

    Post # 12
    11324 posts
    Sugar Beekeeper
    • Wedding: February 2011

    I voted for me personally because I feel like combining our incomes would’ve given a false number? My first job out of law school I started at 54. But I also had 80k in debt. DH’s first job out of college he started at 40 I think (this was before I knew him). He was/is a corporate accountant. When I graduated he was making around 50 i think? This is a few years ago now so its kind of hard to remember. 

    Post # 13
    8734 posts
    Bumble Beekeeper
    • Wedding: September 2011

    I was a bio major in school and was hired as part of a “class” into a start up retail company near NYC.

    Starting salary was $40k (which honestly does not go very far when you are living in Brooklyn and driving 50 miles round trip each day). I have changed jobs (and industries) in the past 5 years and my salary has gone up considerably.

    Fiance was a Comp Sci major and his starting salary was around $65k.

    ETA: I only voted for me. Fiance and I still haven’t combined finances and won’t until after we are married.

    Post # 14
    3563 posts
    Sugar bee
    • Wedding: August 2010

    View original reply
    @PitBulLover: Your first job sounds pretty much like what I do 🙂 I’m a case manager for adults with mental illnesses. I make about 41k. I think a lot of it has to do with 1) I have a master’s degree and 2) NYC cost of living is very high, and I think salaries tend to be higher here as well.

    Post # 15
    2467 posts
    Buzzing bee
    • Wedding: August 2010

    my first job right out of college was an academic year-length “fellowship,” ie basically a glorified internship. i made around $22k + health benefits, at a research firm in dc. after that year i got a “real” job at a similar organization, making $38, and was promoted a year later. by the time i left that job–i was there 3 years–i was making almost $50k. now i’m in a phd program with a stipend that’s $23k. when i finish, in like 6-7 years, the assistant professor jobs i’ll hope to get will probably pay close to what i made when i left my last job. kinda sad when i think of it like that 😛 

    Post # 16
    1663 posts
    Bumble bee
    • Wedding: August 2012

    I am a teacher, and Fiance is studying to be a chartered accountant. I graduated last May and am making 44k. Fiance makes a bit less than that, but his will jump in september when he gets his CA. Everyone always goes on and on about how he’ll make so much money…but really, I’ll be making more than he will for awhile, unless he really decided he wants to climb up there and be a manager or partner. It’s funny the concepts people have about certain jobs.

    The topic ‘How much were you earning right out of college(/grad/law/med/whatever school)?’ is closed to new replies.

    Find Amazing Vendors