This person online seemed to have a similar question:
“I have been married 3 times but my fiancée doesn’t know about my previous marriages. When filling out our marriage license application, is it illegal to not disclose the correct number of times I’ve been married before?
It is embarrassing to have to admit to these past mistakes. Will my marriage still be legal? Would the authorities check this information and tell my husband about my lie?”
“We hope you reconsider not being honest with your fiancée about your former marriages. Although it is unlikely that the marriage officials would check the validity of your statements on the marriage license and notify your husband, truth has a way of becoming known and it could have a very negative impact on your marriage.
According to most state and country laws, it is illegal to lie when you are filling out your marriage license application.
However, the lie does not necessarily invalidate your marriage. Withholding information about how many times you were previous married or your age is generally considered immaterial to your marriage.
Generally, in order to have your marriage declared invalid by a court, the false information had to violate state law. Examples:
- Under Legal Age of Consent.
There could be legal consequences of giving false information on a marriage license application. They include being charged with perjury or a misdemeanor.
For example, Wisconsin lawstates, “A penalty of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 9 months or both to any person who knowingly gives false information when applying for a marriage license.”
Rhode Island law states, “Any person who willfully and knowingly supplies false information on a marriage license shall be punished by a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than one year, or both, pursuant to Section 23-3-28 of the RI General Laws.”
LEGAL DISCLAIMER: This text should not be regarded as legal advice. Consult an attorney familiar with marriage and family law and your own personal circumstances for legal advice regarding providing false information on marriage license applications or invalid marriages.”
So yes, you might still be married but you also might cop a $10,000 fine or be sent to jail for a year. Probably not worth it just to avoid stressing out your parents.