(Closed) Legalities of a DW, not registering marriage in US & marrying again?

posted 8 years ago in Destination Weddings
Post # 3
348 posts
Helper bee

As far as I understand, you are still as married as ever.  In practice, it probably won’t ever come up if she hasn’t registered it in the US and doesn’t plan on ever living in Mexico, but she is technically still married to her ex, and could potentially be guilty of bigamy if she remaries.

(I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice).

Post # 4
3176 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2011

There was an episode of Gulianna and Bill about how they were married in Italy but didn’t file the paperwork in the US so they kept joking that they weren’t really married. I kind of feel like that means your friend is fine to get remarried. But again I’m basing my opinion on an E! show so I don’t know how helpful that is =)

Post # 5
348 posts
Helper bee

I should add: it also obviously depends on whether the Mexico marriage was itself legally valid.  I know a lot of people doing a Destination Wedding don’t actually get legally married out of country because of the paperwork hassles.  So if they didn’t do all the paperwork, etc to make the marriage valid in Mexico, then they never got married at all, and should both be legally single and free to marry.

Post # 6
4137 posts
Honey bee

if they never registered the marriage in the us and are us citizens, they were not married in the us. you must file a marriage license at home.

so while it’s totally wrong of her to lie to her fi that she wasn’t married when she technically was, she was never considered married in the us.

Post # 7
4313 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: November 1999

A marriage in Mexico is valid in any other country.  Your friend is still married.  Two things will happen if she marries without obtaining a divorce:

1) She is committing bigamy

2) Her 2nd marriage will be void

Post # 8
4313 posts
Honey bee
  • Wedding: November 1999