Post # 1
I read up about marriage licenses in Florida. All I could find is that there was a 3-day waiting period between application and receipt of the license. I emailed the county clerk to make sure. He replied that my fiance and I don’t even have to wait, we can receive it on the same day.
My sister tells me today that she had to apply for the license ONE MONTH prior to the wedding – I’m getting married in less than a month!
Am I missing something? Did the laws in Florida change since 2011 or is there something else I am supposed to apply for???
Post # 3
Idk specifically about Florida, but at least in Michigan you just have to get it within a month of the date you get married.
Marriage license is valid for 60 days after issuance. You must perform the ceremony of marriage before this 60 days has expired. Blood Tests are not required. There is a 3-day waiting period after issuance of the license before you can get married, unless you have completed the Florida pre-marital course, in which case the waiting period is waived. Florida Marriage Statutes can be found here: http://www.leg.state.fl.us/statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0700-0799/0741/0741.html
Post # 4
- Wedding: April 2014 - Italian Villa
@everyheart: I’d believe the county clerk over your sister- it’s his job. To be safe, you might want to get it sooner rather than later, but check how long it is valid (as PP said, usually 60 days)
Post # 5
Thanks for the replies! Everything I read says only a 3-day waiting period, unless one of the parties is a non-FL resident. My Fiance is from NY, so I think that’s why the county clerk said we don’t have to wait.
This has been in effect since 1999! So I’m wondering if my sister meant something else. But there’s no other documentation needed to get married, right?
Post # 6
The state of florida says that when you obtain your marriage license, you must get married no later than 60 days later and no sooner than 3 days later. You get the certificate the same day, but that paper is just permission to marry, not the actual statement of marriage.
Post # 7
I know in DE, we have to go 30 days before the weddding at the earliest and 3 days before at the latest
Post # 8
@SweetandSimple: Thanks, that is what I thought. I just keep thinking that maybe I’m forgetting things because of all the stress this planning has given me!
Post # 9
We got married in Florida in April. When you go to the Clerk of Courts you will receive your license. However, if you are a florida resident that did not do marriage counseling there is a 3 day waiting period. In addition, you must get married within 60 days of receiving the marrage license. On the marriage license they will write a time frame stating when the marriage license is valid. Hope this helps!
Post # 10
I’m not sure about your area, but in pa… they issued us our license…but it wasn’t valid for 3 days…
Post # 11
Thanks! Just found out that we don’t have to wait the three days, but will go early anyways, just to be safe!