(Closed) Registry Help – Sets vs. individual items (cookware & knives)

posted 9 years ago in Gifts and Registries
Post # 3
1205 posts
Bumble bee
  • Wedding: May 2009

I wondered the same thing, also when it came to dishes and silverware. I’d suggest registering for a set. People might chip in to get you the set. I think either is appropriate, though, so if you have an inclination toward one way — go with it.

Post # 4
396 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: June 2010

The people who helped us register recommended registering for the individual items. The individual items are usually more expensive per item, but overall cheaper. That way, if you get several individual items, you can return them and get the whole set (since you’re returning more money than the set). I’m not sure if I explained that really well, but hopefully you understand what I’m saying! 

Post # 5
253 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: October 2009

When I worked in retail, we always told people to register for individual items. We could easily make it into a set if people wanted to buy multiple items for the couple, but couldn’t do it the other way.  So, if your dinnerware comes in a place setting and a set of four place settings and you need 12 of everything, just register for 12 place settings…and if someone wants to get you 4 place settings, most stores will be able to do that at the set price.  Just double-check with a sales associate to make sure that’s the case.

Post # 6
327 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: June 2010