(Closed) Rehearsal Dinner & Toasting Times

posted 10 years ago in Parties
Post # 3
296 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: March 2008

Well, I’m no expert on etiquette and tend to thumb my nose in it’s general direction half the time… ;-), but this is how I saw it and what we did.

I felt like the rehearsal dinner was really my time to toast everyone else. I wish I’d thought ahead and planned to toast everyone individually as I gave out their gifts, but I didn’t think of it until it was too late and my Darling Husband had already given out everyone’s gifts. (He was like a kid on christmas handing everything out). But at least I gave one big toast about how much everyone had helped us (and how much they were going to help us the next day at the wedding) and how appreciative I was. I wish I’d thought more about it before hand though. All the great things I’d thought of saying over the months leading up to the rehearsal dinner all kind of escaped me!

We had put an insert in the invitations letting everyone know that we were going to open the floor for toasts from anyone at the wedding. (What’s an Scotts-Irish wedding without toasts right?) I felt that this was when anyone who wanted to could congratulate us and let everyone in on the embarrassing stories. It worked out perfectly. We had people schedule to toast so that we could get things started and then it just went from there. When I felt that everyone was done, I got up and toasted everyone again. Telling them again, how thankful I was and how we couldn’t have had such a beautiful wedding without their help. Then I toasted my new husband, telling him how he had changed my life and how I already loved being his wife.