Sick of doing all the F*&@#g housework!

posted 7 years ago in Home
Post # 3
269 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: July 2010

Make a chore list: specify the chore, who does it, and when it has to be done by. Then stick to it. Make the list together so that things are equal.

I swear the list has saved my sanity.

Post # 5
362 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: November 2013

I’m in a similar situation, but feel as though I’m unable to complain.  I am a student in a nursing program and I work part time.  He works full time and pays the majority of the bills.  When we first started dating, he had a very clean house, so it’s not like he won’t clean or doesn’t, however over the time we have lived together, I have slowly found myself doing more and more of the housework while he does less and less.

Tonight I was irritated because I had to stop studying to clean then go back to studying while he sat there and played a game.  I know he pays most of the bills and I don’t work as many hours as he does, but does that make me responsible for all the housework??  I am sure between school and work I double the hours he spends at work.  If I ask him he helps, but I don’t want to be a nagging girlfriend who is always after him to clean up after himself. 

I wish I had some advice for you to fix this situation, but I am in need of a way to get a fire lit under my SO’s butt to get some housework done as well!

EDIT: I will be graduating in less than a month and working full time afterwards.  In the fall I plan on going back to school to get my BSN while continuing to work full time, I cannot fathom how I will have time for all this and to continue to be solely responsible for keeping the house in order.  I talked to him about the problem a month ago.  It was better for maybe two days tops.

Post # 6
3461 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: May 2012