(Closed) Sweet Garden – Vendor Nightmare

posted 7 years ago in Toronto
Post # 3
10851 posts
Sugar Beekeeper
  • Wedding: September 2010

Oh my gosh that’s awful!!! Those are NOT purple in any sense of the word and there is definitely no bow on there. I’m sorry you had such a terrible vendor ๐Ÿ™  I hope the rest of your day was perfect!

Post # 4
48 posts
  • Wedding: May 2011

Sorry you had such a bad experience ๐Ÿ™ If it’s the same company I’m thinking of (out of Oakville? a lady named Silvia?) we used them as well for our May wedding.

Sounds like we had a better experience than you did but it wasn’t without a few bumps along the way. We met with her at a Starbucks which was a tad sketchy but she brought cupcakes and they were yummy so we took a chance and booked.

A month later my Mom used her to get cupcakes for my shower and when they came they were dry and tasted funny so of course I was freaking out. I went on their website and started poking around. I found out that many of the pictures they have on their website of “their” cakes are taken from other websites, so not cool!. At this point I contacted Silvia and she assured me that the cupcakes would taste like the original ones we tried at Starbucks and would be delivered on time.

Well we did get them on our wedding day but at 3pm instead of noon (they gave the same excuse that they needed to be in the fridge as long as possible) hello the hall has a fridge. Anyway long story short they looked and tasted great. Sounds like we got lucky

Hope the snafu didn’t upset you too much on your big day. My word of advice to any GTA brides out there is to do your research, trust your gut and remember that in most cases you get what you pay for.

Post # 5
8 posts

Oh how horrible.

I got married in March and used them, and only because my friend got married last summer and used them and she recommended the company.

Both of us had a perfect experience with them.

My friend had given me a heads up about meeting at Starbucks, but it wasn’t really a big deal.  They are low thrills, straight and to the point.  But for both of us when the wedding day came we didn’t have to worry the towers were beautiful and I am guessing on time because it was there when I walked in and tasted amazing.

At my wedding everyone was gushing about how amazing the tower looked.

I agree it can be hard to reach them, but once I oredered and paid and gave them the details I didn’t really need to contact them again.

Maybe you just had bad luck.  Hopefully your day was awesome though!

I loved my cupcake tower from them and I would recommend them blindly.

Post # 6
6 posts

That sucks.

But I used them for my wedding in May and they were awesome!

My work used them for corporate cupcakes last year and they were so yummy, so I went and met with them and had a consult.

They were incredibly knowledgeable and super flexible which is something I had a hard time with when planning my wedding, most vendors did not offer flexibility in any product I wanted, it was pick from the list period.

But no I can’t complain, they came to Vaughan to set up my tower, it was awesome, the colors looked great and they tasted amazing. 

Three of my friends have already met with them and everyone is happy.

Sorry sounds like you had a bad experience, but my experience was such the opposite.    I highly recommend them!

Post # 7
5823 posts
Bee Keeper

It is very interesting that two completely NEW users who were married months ago suddenly decided to create accounts within one day of each other (and within one day of this being posted) and just happen to stumble on this thread. 

They both have the same sentence syntax and (lack of) punctuation in the 5 or so preliminary posts they have made prior to choosing to post on this thread.

And they both share an IP address.

I’ll let the Hive draw its own conclusions on that bit of information.

Post # 9
48 posts
  • Wedding: May 2011

I got an email from them this morning asking me to check out their Facebook page, I thought it might be more than a coincidence.

I was checking it out and someone (maybe you?) asked them to take down pictures of her cake as they had no permission. The post has since been removed but an hour later a former bride made a post asking Sweet Garden to use any of her photo’s as they are the artists. Seems this is how they get their point across.

I have no serious beef with the company, I payed and they delivered, I could have gone to a commercial bakery, I knew when we met in Starbucks I was getting what I was paying for. That being said taking photo credit for cakes that you didn’t bake and using them to promote your skills is just wrong. The whole reason I went with Sweey Garden is a picture of a chocolate cupcake with dark turqouise icing that is in their gallery, it’s was perfect. After booking I notice that the same picture (polka dot background and all) keeps popping up on my Facebook advertisments. That made me do a little research and I found it again on 2  different blog. How is that good business?  And making up fake accounts or having your friends post comments to cover up your bad business is not cool. Take the constructive criticism and make your customer service better.

I might have recommend them before this as a frugel option but not anymore… just crazy behaviour

Post # 10
3126 posts
Sugar bee
  • Wedding: December 2017

@MightySapphire: thanks for sharing!

 @mrsb2b711: I am sorry about how your cupcakes turned out. Our ceremony site failed to deliver on some of the promises they made but the rest of our day was awesome so I am letting it go. I hope the rest of your day was fabulous as well and you had a great time at your wedding celebrating your new marriage!

The topic ‘Sweet Garden – Vendor Nightmare’ is closed to new replies.

Find Amazing Vendors