(Closed) TAX TIP: All brides getting married in 2012

posted 6 years ago in Money
Post # 3
627 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: August 2011

Very good point! I am a CPA and my husband and I both changed our W-4’s in January 2011 even though we didn’t get married untill August 2011.

Post # 4
359 posts
Helper bee
  • Wedding: May 2012

Do they charge more tax becuase you are married? I claim 0 on my W4 right now and they take a lot out in taxes as it is for both me and my fiance. We get A LOT back at tax time which is good but that needs to change because I need the money monthly instead of at the end of the year. I was thinking of having them take out less monthly so I can afford living expenses. The weird thing is I make a lot less than my fiance and they take a little more out of my checks then his. I think my boss (small business) is doing something wrong with my checks because everyone is thinking they take out too much tax. Before when I was claiming 1 on the W4 they didn’t take out enough and I ended up owing that year.

Post # 5
2100 posts
Buzzing bee
  • Wedding: April 2012

I posted about this before as well – in fact we picked 4/14 as our wedding date in honor of uncle Sam and the huge hunk of our money he is going to get because Fiance and I make the same salary and I will lose my head of household filing status to boot

Very sound advice

Post # 6
562 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: September 2012

This is all way over my head unfortunately.  I feel like I understand it but I’m not 100% certain.  

Fiance and I will be getting married in September.  We make almost the exact same salary, and (if I remember correctly) have 0 withholdings.  So, theoretically, because we have 0 withholdings atm, we should have a problem with having to pay in next year (right now we both sit in the 15% bracket and that’s what it will be when we file jointly as well, if that helps at all).

Thanks for the knowledge bees!

Post # 7
627 posts
Busy bee