Vegan Appetizers?

posted 2 years ago in Food
  • poll: Do I need to add a vegan appetizer?
    Yes : (31 votes)
    66 %
    It's not necessary : (16 votes)
    34 %
  • Post # 16
    Member
    4036 posts
    Honey bee

    Please don’t change the entree information on your invitations/website, before the night of the reception. The only reason why I’m saying that is because I always order the vegetarian entree and at the last 2 weddings I attended, I was served something different than what I chose/was told I was getting.

    I asked the servers and they both said they used a vegan entree for the vegetarian, because it was easier. At the pricier of the two weddings, I had to use all the butter on the table, to get a quarter of the entree plate down. Had I known, I would have either only attended the cermony/cocktail hour, or chose another option and given my son in law the meat. P.S. I would have been fine with vegan pasta (pasta was promised at both weddings), but a quart of quinoa with a pile steamed root vegetables on top, with no favoring at all, was pretty much wasted. 

    Post # 18
    Member
    487 posts
    Helper bee
    • Wedding: September 2017

    sambaty4 :  Only because my SIL is Vegan and I always feel so bad for her when she can’t eat…. The alst wedding she went to there was no food at all and she as asking if she needed to bring her own food to mine – I would hate to have my BM/SIL feel that unloved at my wedding.

     

    Jack Daniels is Vegan though so it isn’t always a total loss 🙂

    Post # 19
    Member
    480 posts
    Helper bee
    • Wedding: July 2017

    As a part time vegan, I would be happy with tons of fresh fruit. Is that an option?

    Post # 20
    Member
    2606 posts
    Sugar bee
    • Wedding: April 2017 - Valleybrook Country Club

    sambaty4 :  I agree with some of the PPs that you should add something that would be vegan friendly. A tray of veggies and hummus never seems to go to waste at any function I’ve been to and I can’t imagine it would be very costly to add it to your appetizer menu. If it is too costly or not do-able though, I think you should have a small plate for each vegan and have it served to them individually so they can enjoy some apps along iwth your other guests! I had a few guests with celiac, have other allergies, and some vegeterians. I made sure that there was something for everyone. We had a table full of veggies, fruits, crackers, cheese, and dips along with several hot butlered apps. Having the table though really covered all bases because the fruits and veggies are gluten free, dairy free, and vegetarian! So if someone couldn’t eat the hot apps, they at least were able to eat something.

    Post # 21
    Member
    2041 posts
    Buzzing bee
    • Wedding: August 2015

    Ask if there can be half and half of the veggie appetizers. Half which include cheese, and half which done. Or just make it simple and have all veggie appetizers be vegan. We made our vegetarian meal fully vegan for simplicity’s sake and it was great. 

     

    Post # 22
    Member
    9 posts
    Newbee
    • Wedding: July 2017

    I agree with everyone! Please add some vegan options! I’m a vegetarian (not vegan) and I can’t tell you how many weddings I’ve gone to when I’ve had such limited options and fill up on bread. 

    Some great options could be some sort of spring roll, patatas bravas, grilled veggies, anything with hummus, etc. Most vegetarian options can be made vegan. I’d say if you had 2 options for vegans, they’d be thrilled, and your other guests would probably love them as well!

    Post # 23
    Member
    749 posts
    Busy bee

    bellsprout :  sorry to interrupt the thread but… Wine isn’t vegan??

    Surely it’s just grapes?

    Post # 24
    Member
    4499 posts
    Honey bee

    pond :  Many vegans are also very vigilant about the use of any animal products in the manufacturing of an item as well.  For instance, some white sugar is not vegan.  Sugar made from sugar beets is, but some manufacturers use bone char in the filtering of sugar made from sugar cane.  Same with wine.  A lot of wine is vegan, but some manufacturers use a product often made from animal products to clarify the wine and filter out sediment and other things that can give it a cloudy appearance. 

    Post # 25
    Member
    749 posts
    Busy bee

    annabananabee :  you learn something new every day! 

    Thank you!

    Leave a comment


    Find Amazing Vendors