Post # 1
So in going over to the support threads, I saw several people request that their accounts be closed. I’m just wondering, what is the benefit of doing so? How is that better than just no longer logging into the Bee anymore? I don’t think things get deleted (as we learned with scandalgate a few weeks ago, it’s almost impossible to get anything deleted). Are they no longer searchable? I’m just wondering what the benefits are. I have an account on another board, but haven’t logged on in years. But it never occured to me to close the account.
Post # 3
@EastMeetsBarn: I’m curious about this as well. I have no idea.
Post # 4
I’ve wondered this, too. I guess if for some reason I began to be involved in some sort of litigation, I might have it closed, or if I became very, very famous. But other than taht, I can’t imagine anyone cares enough about my life for this to ever be an issue.
Post # 5
I would imagine a grand and dramatic exit…?
Post # 7
It allows others to know you are no longer a member, so they won’t bother trying to PM or reply to someone who is no longer here.
It doesn’t really help the person who closes their account, AFAIK.
Post # 8
- Wedding: August 2013 - The Liberty House
I haven’t seen the benefit to this either, it’s just to let other people know that your account isn’t active I guess
Post # 9
A few reasons I can think of.
It stops the person from coming on when they are trying to move on (not stop from reading, but from posting) (a self imposed timeout/quit)
It allows them to have a clean break and maybe start a new account for a different phase in their life.
It changes your status on your old posts.
It prevents someone else, hypothetically, hacking your account and doing bad things (such as selling stuff on the classifieds) just like they can do with email and ebay etc.
and I am sure there are more.
Post # 10
Where is the support board anyway? I would like to close my old account because I use this one, but I still get PMs on my old account wanting to buy my dress, etc. when I posted 2 years ago that it was sold 🙂
Post # 11
@ellebeerob: Top left hand corner.
Post # 13
@Nona99: I don’t think so. Asking for an account to be deactivated via the support board isn’t very grand. Most people don’t even look at that board.
I think it’s probably people that 1. have had enough of WB and don’t want to be tempted to log in anymore or 2. want to start a new account and need to get rid of the old one first.