Will July 2021 be "safe" for 150+ person weddings?

posted 5 days ago in Engagement
  • poll: Do you think July 2021 weddings will be safe from COVID impact?

Yes, I think there will be a vaccine/effective treatment by then.

Yes and no. There might be a vaccine, but it won't be widely available.

Maybe. I'm very undecided and think it could go either way.

No, I do not think there will be a vaccine/effective treatment by then.

• Post # 2
    13 posts
    Newbee

I think it will be tricky to predict since it’s not just about the vaccine, it’s about who’s willing to get it. If it’s like the flu vaccine, then are certain populations (the immunocompromised/infants) that are not able to get the regular weakened pathogen vaccine and may not be able to afford the antibody vaccine, so they rely on herd immunity. If there is an effective vaccine, the trajectory and severity of the disease should decrease, but like with many diseases like measles, it’s not down to zero. 

(I’m not an expert, just a gal with a Biochemistry and Cell Bio degree)

Post # 3
    191 posts
    Blushing bee

Don’t put any money down that you can’t get back is my advice. We have no idea what a year will look like from now.

Post # 4
    2263 posts
    Buzzing bee
    • Wedding: September 2020

I really hope so. I think there will be a vaccine and I think people will have access to it… but I think there will be many morons who refuse to get it. I voted maybe because I’m hoping proof of vaccination will become almost mandatory to do the things people want to do (go back to work, send your kid to camp, etc.). If forced between yes and no, I would guess yes, the wedding will be okay to go forward. 

Post # 5
    163 posts
    Blushing bee
    • Wedding: April 2021 - Chicago, IL

Well I sure hope so! I’m in IL also, and we’re still hoping for our <100 wedding for April 2021. If not, we are postponing till fall 2021. Hopefully all will be much more calm come next July!

Post # 6
    13355 posts