(Closed) Young Engagement – 19/18

posted 5 years ago in Family
Post # 3
1019 posts
Bumble bee

Congrats! I’m interested to see some replies, since I am in a relationship that will have the same age gap at the end of this year. I’ll be 19, and he’ll be 18. However, unlike in your situation where you seem to be in the same year in school, I am a university student and my DBF is finishing up high school.

I know that won’t matter in a few years, but I was mainly just happy to see someone around my age in a similar enough relationship situation who also has a slightly younger SO (as opposed to an older one; that seems to be the norm with the youngest bees). Not saying that larger age gaps are bad when you’re young – I just find it a little frustrating how ladies my age with an SO who is 5-10 years older will inevitably be taken more seriously in some ways. We even started dating our SOs at similar ages! (I was 17, going on 18, and DBF was 16).

As for DBF and I, we’ve been together for about a year (exactly a year by the end of this month!), and we both believe that we shouldn’t get engaged until at least about four years from now. If it happened now, it’d probably be more of a shitstorm than when your mother finds out. I think my American family would be secretly pleased, but given that DBF is from a culture where people don’t really consider getting married until their mid-twenties (if at all), his parents would be livid, even if he was a year out of high school. XD

Post # 5
175 posts
Blushing bee
  • Wedding: February 2014

I am glad you are happy.  But you are both very very young.  Be engaged by all means and be happy together, but I would strongly recommend a long engagement. I suspect your family will be more supportive of that idea too.

Best Wishes.  

Post # 8
603 posts
Busy bee
  • Wedding: September 2013